Home > News > News Archive > 2018 > Penn State Smeal names spring 2018 Senior Award recipients

Penn State Smeal names spring 2018 Senior Award recipients

May 3, 2018

The Penn State Smeal College of Business recognizes graduating seniors each spring with five named awards. Seniors who are graduating in the spring, summer, or fall of the same year are eligible. Recipients will be recognized at commencement and receive a Nittany Lion statuette, as well as a monetary award. 

The five awards are listed below with descriptions of each and this year’s recipient(s): 

Helen Eakin Eisenhower Award: Awarded to graduating seniors who have demonstrated scholarship, leadership, character, and service to the Smeal College of Business. 

  • Bryan Simon, Master of Accounting/Finance


The John M. and Anne B. Stevens Academic Integrity Award: Awarded to a graduating senior or seniors who demonstrate leadership in academic integrity by serving on a college committee, task force or in a leadership role, dedicated to upholding the Smeal Honor Code and to promoting a culture of academic integrity.

  • Sara Chan, Supply Chain and Information Systems
  • Mercedes Marquez, Management Information Systems/Economics


Milton J. Bergstein Student Community Service Award: Awarded to graduating seniors who have achieved success in at least one student organization and has demonstrated ongoing involvement in a community service program outside of Smeal. 

  • Caleb Cheng, Master of Accounting/Finance
  • Lydia Drabik, Finance/Spanish
  • Shane Harris, Corporate Innovation and Entrepreneurship
  • Nadia Spotts, Accounting
  • Emily Weiland, Finance/Spanish


The George Leland Leffler Scholarship: Awarded to an outstanding Finance major. 

  • Abdul-Salaam Jabri, Finance


Ralph H. Wherry Student Service Award: This award honors graduating seniors who excelled in service to the college, have exhibited academic achievement, and manifest the promise of a successful professional career. 

  • Brandon Chang, Finance
  • Rachel Ebner, Marketing
  • John George, Finance/Economics
  • Kellie Giles, Master of Accounting
  • Laura Holleran, Supply Chain and Information Systems
  • Kimberly Hoogenboom, Risk Management (Actuarial Science)/Mathematics
  • Cole Johnson, Finance
  • Christina Li, Finance
  • Audrey Mathias, Supply Chain and Information Systems
  • Emma Nealis, Master of Accounting/Finance
  • Shamieka Stone, Management
Media Contact

Andy Elder
Public Relations Specialist