Home > News > News Archive > 2017 > Penn State Smeal names spring 2017 Senior Award recipients

Penn State Smeal names spring 2017 Senior Award recipients

April 27, 2017

The Penn State Smeal College of Business recognizes graduating seniors each spring with five named awards. Seniors who are graduating in the spring, summer, or fall of the same year are eligible. Recipients will be recognized at commencement and receive a Nittany Lion statuette, as well as a monetary award. 

The five awards are listed below with descriptions of each and this year’s recipient(s): 

Helen Eakin Eisenhower Award: Awarded to graduating seniors who have demonstrated scholarship, leadership, character, and service to the Smeal College of Business. 

  • Boyoung Kim, Finance

The John M. and Anne B. Stevens Academic Integrity Award: Awarded to a graduating senior or seniors who demonstrate leadership in academic integrity by serving on a college committee, task force or in a leadership role, dedicated to upholding the Smeal Honor Code and to promoting a culture of academic integrity.

  • Andrew Graziano, Finance
  • Arissa Green, Supply Chain and Information Systems
  • Andrew Murphy, Supply Chain and Information Systems

Milton J. Bergstein Student Community Service Award: Awarded to graduating seniors who have achieved success in at least one student organization and has demonstrated ongoing involvement in a community service program outside of Smeal. 

  • Lauren Herneisey, Accounting (MAcc)
  • Erika Hill, Marketing
  • Alexander Pronzato, Corporate Innovation and Entrepreneurship
  • Austin Sommerer, Marketing 

The George Leland Leffler Scholarship: Awarded to an outstanding Finance major. 

  • John Delaney, Finance

Ralph H. Wherry Student Service Award: This award honors graduating seniors who excelled in service to the college, have exhibited academic achievement, and manifest the promise of a successful professional career. 

  • Asia Grant, Marketing
  • Samuel Diacont, Finance
  • Grace Guo, Accounting (MAcc)
  • Kevin Hernandez, Finance
  • Bryanna Hope, Management
  • Laura Peterson, Supply Chain and Information Systems
  • Devam Shah, Marketing
  • Shonda Walters, Risk Management-Enterprise Risk Management
  • Zachary Weinhold, Supply Chain and Information Systems
Media Contact

Andy Elder
Public Relations Specialist